Hong Kong Disneyland

On our second day in Hong Kong, I finally ticked off my major bucket list item – Disney! Even though I was suffering from some major jetlag, I was like a kid on Christmas morning. I set my alarm to wake up at 7am, and as soon as the buzzer went off, I shot out of bed like an arrow. I was ready in record time, and had to nag at John to get a move on. I know it was silly, but I had dreamed of visiting Disney since I was a child. This may not have been the Paris or Orlando one, but I was just as excited for it.

 

11073349_10153266446188968_3118457224339587510_n

On the train to Disneyland.

Although it is a very small theme park, it is still a lot better than the small parks we have in  South Africa. We took the MRT, and when we switched lines to the Disneyland line, we were transported into the world of Disney automatically. The train has wonderful decor, including mickey mouse shaped windows, mickey mouse hand grips, and beautiful little statues in glass casings. The seats were a rich velvety blue – a luxurious feeling compared to the plastic seats from the previous train. My excitement was bubbling over .

11024703_10153266446368968_5581969442346914001_nWe arrived half an hour before opening time, and wandered around the outside area. The magical music was playing from speakers, and there was a fountain with mickey on a surfboard, riding the water from a whale’s blow hole. That probably sounds very wrong, but it’s the only way I can describe it! We were very fortunate to get complimentary entrance, as our one friend is a Disney princess. She met us at the entrance (they allowed a water bottle), gave us our passes and off we went! Because it was a small park and we had all day, we didn’t stress too much about timing our rides. There are a few fast pass options, but we didn’t use them at all.

Sadly the Disney castle had some construction at the time, so my lovely castle view was a painted cardboard castle covering the construction. We were very fortunate to not have any queues that day – the longest being about 15 minutes. We had carefully gone through the list of rides before our trip, so we knew what we wanted to do beforehand. Here are my thoughts on the rides we went on (gave them a heart rating out of 5, 5 being the best in my opinion):

♥♥♥♥♥ – Big Grizzly mountain: We had no waiting at all for this ride, we ended up doing this one about 5 times in a row. The animatronics (I think that’s a word?) on this ride were awesome! Big grizzly bear, fake explosion, rollercoaster changing direction half way through, all in all an amazing coaster!

♥♥♥♥♥ – Mystic Manor: The lifelike effects of this ride were incredible! It looked so real that I found myself ducking from shooting arrows that were not real. We did this ride twice and I was in such amazement each time.

♥♥♥♥♥ – Space Mountain: This was the first ride that we did, and we ended up going back to this one another 2 times. It is indoor, and you find yourself spiralling through space.

♥♥♥♥ – The Many Adventures of Winnie The Pooh: Although this ride is aimed at kids, I loved it! It takes a fast pass, but we didn’t need it, the queue was just a 5 minute wait. We hopped into the honeypot and went through the story book.

♥♥♥♥ – Cinderella Carousel: This was my first time on a proper carousel, and it made me feel like I was sucked into a scene from Mary Poppins – I was in my element!

♥♥♥♥ – Jungle River Cruise: Some people might find this cruise a waste of time according to previous reviews I had read, but I loved this cruise! Our guide was trying very hard to make it an entertaining and funny trip, even though she struggled with English. The animals and tribesmen were realistic, we had a great time.

♥♥♥ – Dumbo the Flying Elephant: This ride takes you up in a circular motion, giving you a nice view of the park. It was sweet and light-hearted fun, but I wouldn’t wait in a 15 minute queue for it.

♥♥♥ – Slinky Dog Spin: This was a small rollercoaster in the Toy Story part of the park. It was cute, but very tame compared to the other coasters there.

♥♥♥ – Parachute drop: fun, but not terribly thrilling. More of a relaxed ride, unless you are deathly afraid of heights!

♥♥ -Buzz Lightyear laserquest: John had quite a bit of fun on this ride, but my laser gun wasn’t working the first time, so we had to do it again. I was still disappointed the 2nd time around.

♥♥ – Orbitron: I wasn’t very impressed with this one either, Dumbo was enough for me.

Unfortunately “It’s a small world” was closed for renovation, so I can’t rate that ride.

11081486_10153266447698968_8646559444355847901_nAs far as character meet and greets were concerned, I had the pleasure of taking pictures with the following characters:

  • Mickey Mouse
  • Minnie Mouse
  • Winnie the pooh
  • Jessie
  • Woody
  • Donald duck
  • Pluto

10984159_10153266448968968_7023223869851595786_nIn order to meet the Frozen princesses, you had to book the meet and greet in the morning, and they sold out quickly!

11053654_10153266448428968_158053075643379151_nWe didn’t take photos of our sleeping beauty friend, but we took a photo of her in the parade. There are lockers which we made use of, and refilled our water bottle as it was quite pricey. We made our way down to watch the 3pm parade, I was in awe! The music, characters and float made me feel like I was living in the Disney dream. Next up on my agenda was the shopping! I went a little bit crazy, buying souvenirs for everybody. I got myself lovely silver and rose color mickey mouse earrings, some mugs, ornaments for our Christmas tree, and a few other bits and bobs. John was a real trooper, I dragged him through each and every single store many times, going through all the merchandise carefully. I bought myself a light blue mug with a 3d Olaf, and a slogan than says “I like warm hugs” and “do you wanna build a snowman?”.

11071818_10153266448848968_4842878972719223199_nFinally it was time for me to take a breather, sit down and eat something. I had bought a takeaway turkey leg in between rides, but I had spotted a mickey mouse waffle that I was salivating over. We ordered one, and filled one ear of the plastic plate with syrup, and the other ear with chocolate sauce. I was in sugar heaven! The price for a waffle wasn’t too bad, I think it cost hk$45. I also indulged in cotton candy and a slushie 🙂

We ended up leaving at 5pm and missing the evening light show, as I still wanted to find the Charlie Brown Cafe in the city. I turned and had one last look at the disappointingly cardboard castle, and then left the park. Our hands were full of shopping packets, and my heart was full of happiness, the kind only Disney can bring. We hopped back on the trains to our hotel, and had a quick shower and freshen up.

11079571_10153266440108968_7719602917981903779_nAfter we had relaxed for a bit, we headed back to the subway and made our way towards the Charlie Brown cafe. I had an orange hot chocolate, which was delicious! The whole restaurant has a Charlie Brown theme to it. I had a snoopy pattern on my hot choc.

After walking around a few night market stalls, it was back to the hotel for a good night’s sleep!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

